“We think too much and feel too little.”

Emotions. We all have them. We all feel them. It’s important to know that feeling things is OK – but it isn’t ok if those feelings become obsessive and hurtful to others.

Being a teenager allows different luxuries to occur, like self-growth and self-reflection. I learned to be okay with being sad. I held off on my grief for the longest time, but once I finally accepted that it was okay to be sad and to cry… I felt better about myself. Not great, but better. That weight was lifted from my shoulders. It doesn’t mean that grieving was a one time thing; I learned to accept that it would be a part of my life for a long time to come.

There are people who bottle up emotions. I didn’t consider myself to be one of them, but in retrospect I guess I was. I put off my sadness so much that, without coming to terms with it, I would have exploded. That explosion would have been a very horrific type of depression. But this isn’t to say that now that I let myself be sad, I’m all better. That’s far from the case. Instead, I learned that it’s okay to be depressed. Life hands you some bad lemons (a lot of the time), but sometimes you have that perfect one to make solid lemonade with. It just depends.

There are others who feel deeply but do not acknowledge that these emotions drive their actions. And just like bottling up your feelings, it’s severely unhealthy to not realize the root of your own problems – even if you are feeling things. A realization I had is that I’m a bit too self-reflective, but I also understand that there are people who can’t really look at themselves analytically at all. I don’t know if they will be able to in time, but I hope one day they can find peace within themselves.

The emotions people have are valid. If the actions that sprout from these emotions are harmful, that’s when I think people should take a step back. Think about why you’re feeling this way. What can you do to change that? Look at yourself. What can you do to make yourself feel better? Lighter?

 

Photo Credit: Walt Disney Studios

Title: Charlie Chaplin quote from The Great Dictator

One thought on ““We think too much and feel too little.”

Leave a Reply

