Grey

I’ve been watching a lot of television lately (but really, when do I not), and it got me thinking about some connections with what we’re reading in AP Lit.

We’re currently reading Hamlet in Lit, and I feel a bit more emotionally attached to the title character more than my peers. Hamlet lost his dad, I lost my mom. I feel like I feel for that part of his story more than others, so I’m more forgiving of his actions that sprouted after his loss. While others might focus on his vengeful, violent side (which I totally do not support), I’m very apt to low-key forgive him because he wasn’t allowed to grieve or supported by his uncle-dad and aunt-mom. Some might view him as just a bad person or a guy who’s angsty and reckless, but I see him as this deeply depressed person who is constantly undermined and put down. I can see why he went crazy.

People aren’t just good or just bad.

This brings me to my television connection — I recently started season two of Daredevil, and Matt Murdock (the title character) is dealing with the choices he is making (as he is in the process of saving Hell’s Kitchen). Matt doesn’t believe in killing but the Punisher (Frank Castle) does. Who’s right? Who’s wrong? They are both causing some sort of chaos. But Frank is looked at as a villain and Matt as a hero. Where does that distinction lie when their work has the same motivation?

A connection between these two works of art lies in this. Not everything is black or white.. there is so much grey area in this world that there really is no such thing as a purely good or bad person. We’re all just human.

Leave a Reply

