Is it too much to ask for something great?

I connected with One Direction’s “Something Great” after my mom passed away.

I want you here with me
Like how I pictured it
So I don’t have to keep imagining

Throughout all the memories, all the moments of senior year (and for the rest of my life), I will have to imagine my mother’s presence. It’s especially hard to go to pre-dance picture events and not have my mom there, or attend my very own 18th birthday dinner without my mother beside me as I blow out the candles.

I cannot even imagine how tough it will be on graduation day, knowing she won’t even see me transition into the next part of my life. All of my life events, my milestones, are happening without her. I thought she would be there when I walked down the isle. I pictured seeing her holding my child in the hospital. I saw us traveling to Europe and visiting all the famous art museums together. But life cut that short, and now I can only imagine.

Is it too much to ask for something great?

Is it truly too much to ask for things to go right in life? I know that’s a little low-key cynical, but it’s something I think about a lot. When the worst thing that could possible happen, happens, nothing seems bright anymore.

7 thoughts on “Is it too much to ask for something great?

  1. Anahita Jaan, when you write about mom I feel you write for both of us, Actually for all 3 of us. In true sense of the word I am speechless!
    I feel the pain deep in my bones, nothing to do with your passage. It’s been there, never changed. I know that you firmly believe that mom is gone but I see it differently. I am not saying she is out there in the same shape and form, but I am saying she is PRESENT,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anahita aziz , I love the pure way you express your feelings . You are incredibly talented babe . You make your mum proud in heaven and your dad proud beside you here . Love you xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your writing is truly special, able to touch all who read it. I can’t even express how much your strength inspires me! I’ll always be here to support you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

