Knock knock.

“I’m drunk,” he said, sighing as he rested his head on the closed door, listening for her heartbeat on the other side, “I’m drunk, and I’m in love with you, and you dumped me the day before my birthday, and I just. I just. I want to know why.”

“I thought we had a good thing going. You gave me space. I gave you space. Was it too much? Was I too much? Knock twice if no.”

Knock knock.

“Then why? Why did you dump me? I’m empty, Claire. I’m empty without you. Drinking doesn’t fill the void, it only makes things blurry. Confused. Why’d you do it, Claire? Now I’m alone on my 22nd birthday.” He closed his eyes and sunk to the floor, resting his head on his knees. “Will you open the door, Claire? Let me in? Knock twice if you’ll think about it.”

Knock knock.

“You were the best thing to happen to me. We’ve known each other for years. The high school sweethearts going off to college together. College is over, Claire. We graduate in one week. Why’d you do it?” Tears streamed down his face. The hallway felt unnaturally hot. “Are we going to be anything? Can we go anywhere after this? Knock twice if maybe.”

Knock knock.

“Claire. Open the door. I’m still in love with you. I always have. I’ve been in love with you ever since that ferris wheel ride during senior year, when we went to the county fair. I’ve been in love with you for years and I never want to not feel this way.” He sniffed. “Please let me in, Claire. I can’t do this alone.”

Knock knock.

 

 

 

Photo Credit

One thought on “Knock knock.

Leave a Reply

