A flame went out slowly last Monday eve.

A flame went out slowly last Monday eve.

The hospital bed where she flickered out

Remains untouched as I sit there and grieve.

She was someone I could not live without.

 

My own flame faltered as I passed the time,

Days without meaning repeatedly came,

A motherless daughter in her true prime,

I was an archer that lacked any aim.

 

But grief was funny since it came and left-

Like a phoenix born from ashes of death,

I knew I must face the truth of God’s theft

And accept my loss with a steady breath.

 

Even though my mom’s flame went out that night,

My own constantly burns as I take flight.

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit

9 thoughts on “A flame went out slowly last Monday eve.

  1. Hi Anahita…you have a way with words…Keep up the good work! Hope to see more of your writing here. BTW, on the subject matter of your post, I recall these lines from Rumi, a Sufi mystic who said:

    “…Is not the sun as it sinks, elsewhere rising too?
    My grave is but the last door, the entrance to the new.”

    Keep the faith! Cheers

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

