In the sky or in the sea

In the sky or in the sea

That’s where I’ll hope you’ll be

 

Constellations and waves

High tides and starry nights

I know you’re watching out for me

 

I never thought I’d have to be

All grown up

Not nearly seventeen

I guess Neverland

Could never be the place for me

 

Is that the second star to the right?

Is that a mermaid under the sea?

Or is that my mother,

Or have I gone insane?

 

I look up

I gaze out

I see nothingness staring back at me

But I also see everything

 

I see the twinkle of your eyes in Orion’s belt

I feel your gentle touch when my fingers

Graze the salty sea

 

With a broken heart and an empty soul

I remember that fairytales are a part

Of my imagination

And so are

You.

One thought on “In the sky or in the sea

Leave a Reply

